By Muhammad Mahdi Isa


The Zamfara State Governor-elect, Alhaji Dauda Lawal Dare, has constituted a 60-Member Transition Committee, a member of which is a renouned Professor of English in Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Professor Aliyu Liman, under the chairmanship of former Inspector General of Police, MD Abubakar (rtd).

Other notable members of the 60-member Committee includes the state’s former Head of Service, Mujitaba Isah Gusau, Col. Bala Mande (Rtd), Barrister Nura Ibrahim, Barrister Bello Galadi, and Dr Hamza Muhammad who will serve as Secretary.

The office of the Governor-elect, in a statement signed by Sulaiman Bala Idris on Wednesday, disclosed that the committee is charged with the responsibility of liaising with the outgoing Administration of Governor Bello Matawalle ahead of the May 29th swearing-in of the new government in the state.

The committee is made up of technocrats, present and retired public office holders, as well as professionals and experts from all walks of life.

The committee’s primary task is to develop a clear framework of liaison and establish a clear channel of formal communication with the outgoing administration for a smooth transition.

Furthermore, the committee will engage Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) and review the finances of the outgoing government with a focus on receipts, assets, and liabilities, among others.

Date for the inauguration of the Governorship Transition Committee will be announced in due course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *