By Philomena Chukwuma Ebere

Following the expiration of the first three year term tenure of Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad as Chairman, and sixteen other members, of the Governing Council of Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved re-appointment of the 17-Man Council for the final term of three years, effective from 13th of May.

Re-appointment of the Justice Muhammad-led council followed initial recommendation by the Director General of the Institute, Professor Muhammad Taufeeq Ladan, to the Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami (SAN), who hinged it on the need for continuity in governance.

“It is our firm believe that a seamless continuity in office will entrench developmental strides never witnessed in the Institute. This council has demonstrated uncommon passion, zeal and commitment in this noble cause”, Professor Ladan recommended.

Following the Director General’srĀ  a letter, dated 18/May/2022, addressed to him, titled, Re: Notification of the expiration of the tenure of Chairman and Members of the Governing Council of the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies and request for the extension of their tenure” signed by the Solicitor- General of the Federation and Permanent Secretary, Mrs B. E. Jedy-Agba, partly read, “I write as a sequel to letter Ref.SGF. 42/S. 16/135 of 5th May, 2022, conveying the approval of Mr President for the renewal of the appointment of the Chairman and members of the Governing Council of the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies for a final term of three (3) years”

The letter therefore stressed that, “Accept the assurances of the very warm regards and best wishes of the Honourable Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice”.

Below, are names of the 16 Members of the Governing Council:

Chief Adegboyega Awomolo (SAN), Mr. Ibirobo Tamuno-Adekola, Professor Abubakar Ridwan Matazu, Mr. Bernerd Home (SAN), Mr. Illo Sanusi (SAN), Representative Federal Ministry of Justice, Director, Legal Services, Federal Ministry of Education, Dean of Law, University of Lagos, Dean of Law, Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Dean of Law, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Dean of Law, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Dean of Law, University of Jos, Dean of Law, University of Maiduguri, Representative of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Director-General, Nigeria Law School, Bwari, Representative of the Nigerian Bar Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *