By Mahdi Waziri Isa

The Visitor of Nasarawa State University Keffi, Governor Abdullahi A. Sule, has approved the appointment of the immediate past Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission, Professor Attahiru Jega, as the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Council of the State’s University.

The Governor has also approved the appointment of Dr Ahmed Gero, Alhaji Shuaibu Abdullahi Kore, Mr Thomas Ari Ogiri and Hon. Mary Enwongulu as members of the Governing Council.

A letter addressed to the Vice Chancellor, Professor Suleiman Bala Muhammad, titled ‘Notification of Appointment of Governing Council’, dated 19th, December, 2023, signed by the Secretary to the Government of Nasarawa State, Barr. Muhammad Ubandoma Aliyu, said the Governing Council will be inaugurated on Monday, 15th, January, 2024.

The choice of Professor Jega who was a one-time Vice Chancellor of Bayero University Kano and one-time President of Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), according to some academics, is a perfect one, and in line with the standard earlier set by the founder of the University, and its first Visitor, Governor Abdullahi Adamu and his successors, who first set pace in the appointment of very credible Nigerians of international repute as the University’s Pro-Chancellors.

Eminent Nigerians like former Minister of Petroleum, and Secretary General of Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), Late Alhaji (Dr) Rilwanu Lukman, Reverend Mathew Hassan Kukah and Professor Adamu Baike were all Pro-Chancellors of the University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *