By Mahdi Abubakar

In a bid to provide high quality manpower development and research, access to education for young Nigerians and develop skills for the 21st Century, the Federal University Wukari in Taraba State has commenced Postgraduate Studies.

The university has also established four more faculties, bringing the total number of faculties in the university to seven.

A statement signed by the Director, Public Affairs of the University, Mr. Kenneth Uwa, said the approved Postgraduate programmes cut across the  Faculties of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Humanities, Management and Social Sciences and Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences.

According to the statement, the post graduate programmes offered in Faculty of Agriculture and Life Sciences include M.Sc and  PhD Agricultural Extension and rural Sociology, PGD, Animal Production,  M.Sc and PhD Animal Breeding and Genetics, M.Sc, PhD Animal Production and Management,  M.Sc, PhD, Animal Physiology, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Crop Production, PGD,M.Sc, PhD Fisheries and Aquaculture, PGD, M.Sc, PhD, Food Science and Technology, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Forestry and Wildlife, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Hotel Management and Tourism, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Soil Science and Land Management.

“In the  Faculty of Humanities, Management and Social Sciences, we have  PGD, MSc., PhD Accounting , PGD, MSc., PhD Banking and Finance, PGD, MSc., PhD Business Administration, PGD, MSc., PhD Economics, MA, PhD English Language, MA, PhD History,  PGD, MA, PhD Philosophy, PGD, MSc., PhD Political Science, PGD, MSc., PhD Public Administration and PGD, MSc., PhD Sociology”, the statement further highlighted.

The statement also said “In the Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences, we have PGD, M.Sc, PhD Biochemistry PGD, M.Sc, PhD Biology, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Chemistry, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Computer, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Mathematics, PGD, M.Sc, PhD Statistics,  M.Sc, PhD Microbiology and M.Sc, PhD Physics.

Among the new faculties established are Faculty Medicine (MBBS), Faculty of Engineering & Technology, Faculty of Law and Education.

Faculty Medicine (MBBS) is comprised of departments of Human Anatomy, Nursing Science, Medical Laboratory Sciences, Physiotherapy, Medical Biochemistry, Human Physiology and Radiography and Radiation Science.

While Faculty of Engineering & Technology comprises of  departments of Agricultural Engineering, Civil and Water Resources Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical /Electronics Engineering, Chemical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering.

Faculty of Law houses departments of Public Law,  Private Law, Sharia Law, Jurisprudence and Legal Theory and Commercial Law; as Faculty of Education is broken into Continuing Education and Extension Services, Physical and Health Education, Library & Information Sciences, Special Education, Vocational and Technical Education and B.Sc./B.Ed – Education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *