• Confirms Appointments of Institute’s Bursar, Librarian, Secretary
  • Approves Promotion of Three Professors, Five Associate Professors
  • Ratifies All promotion exercises for 2016 – 2019

By Pauline Abutu

The Director General of Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS), Professor Mohammad Taufiq Ladan has disclosed that the Institute’s Governing Council, under the Chairmanship of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Muhammad Tanko, at its recent 47th Meeting, took some commendable and record decisions aimed at boosting staff morale and positioning the Institute on a result-oriented Path.

These decisions included the confirmation of Appointments of the Institute’s Bursar, Chief Librarian and Secretary, approval of the Promotion of Three Academic Staff to the rank of Professors and Five to the rank of Associate Professors, and ratification of all promotion exercises for 2016 – 2019.

Appointed as Bursar, Chief Librarian and Institute Secretary were Mr. John Yawe, Professor Uluocha Anyaogu and Mr. Tiamiyu Sharafadeen respectively.

While the Institute’s Secretary, Mr. Sharafadeen, hails from Kwara State, the Bursar, Mr. Yawe, hails from Benue State and the Institute’s Librarian, Prof. Uluocha, hails from Abia State.

Before her promotion, Prof. Uluocha was Head of Library/Deputy Institute’s Librarian. Born on 25th September, 1973, Prof. Uluocha obtained her GCE from Federal School of Art and Science Aba in 1990, Diploma  in Computer Science from University of Ibadan in 1997, B.Sc. Education/Library Studies from Abia State University, Uturu in 1994. She also obtained her MLS Library Studies and PhD Library and Information Studies from University of Ibadan in 1998 and 2015 respectively.

The Institute’s Bursar, Mr. John Yawe, was born on April 9, 1965. He obtained his MBA in Financial Management from National Open University of Nigeria in 2010, PGD Accounting from Benue State University in 2001, and his Bachelor of Science Degree (Hon) from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria in 1987.

Mr. John Yawe started his working career at the Bursary Department of ABU between 1989 to 1994 from where he proceeded to Taraku Vegetable Company, Makurdi where he served for four years and from where he joined NIALS in 1998.

The Institute’s Secretary, Mr. Sharafadeen was born on 22nd August, 1966, at Offa, Kwara State, where he attended Ogidiri L.S.M.B School, Offa and Offa Grammar School. He later proceeded to University of Illorin where he obtained his first and second Degrees in Islamic Studies and Public Administration respectively.

Those that were promoted to the ranks of Professor were Professor Jide Owoeye, Professor Emmanuel Okon and Professor Uluocha Anyaogu.

Those that were promoted to the ranks of Associate Professor were Dr. Fatima Waziri – Azi, Dr. Ibe Ifekandu and Dr. Arewa Adebisi. Others were Dr. Uwem Etem and Dr. Rita Okeke.

With this latest promotion under the leadership of Professor Ladan, there are now a total of thirteen Professors and Eight Associate Professors at the Institute.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *